OCRES logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

OCRES Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • OMG's legacy Advanced page lists the OCRES exam fee at US$200, delivered as a Pearson VUE computer-based test.
  • The exam is 90 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, with an official minimum passing score of 45.
  • Advanced requires earlier passes (Fundamental OCUP and Intermediate OCRES), so total cost can exceed one fee.
  • OCRES is absent from OMG's current certification catalog and Pearson's program page, so confirm live pricing before paying.

The Cost Snapshot: What the Published Pages Say

If you are searching for the price of the OMG Certified Real-time and Embedded Specialist: Advanced credential, the short answer is a single published number: US$200. That figure appears on OMG's Advanced page at omg.org/ocres/advanced.htm, which is undated. It covers one sitting of the Advanced exam, administered as a computer-based, multiple-choice test at a Pearson VUE test center.

The logistics attached to that fee are equally specific. The exam contains 90 questions and runs for 90 minutes, and the official minimum passing score is 45. Note the wording carefully: OMG publishes 45 as the minimum passing score, not "45%." Candidates sometimes assume the two are interchangeable, and OMG's published materials do not support that assumption. For a deeper treatment of scoring language, see our breakdown of the OCRES passing score.

Cost ElementPublished DetailConfidence Level
Advanced exam feeUS$200 (undated OMG Advanced page)Legacy-published; confirm before paying
DeliveryPearson VUE test center, computer-basedLegacy-published
Format90 multiple-choice questions, text and UML diagramsLegacy-published
Time limit90 minutesLegacy-published
Minimum passing score45 (not stated as a percentage)Legacy-published
Preparation materialsNot priced by OMG in the sources reviewedVaries by your choices

Anything beyond the exam fee, such as books, courses, travel to a test center, or taxes your local jurisdiction may add, is not itemized on the pages we reviewed. Treat those as your own variable costs.

Check Availability Before You Budget

Verify before you pay: OCRES remains documented on OMG's legacy pages, but it does not appear in OMG's current general certification catalog (omg.org/certification) or on Pearson VUE's current OMG program page. That means the US$200 figure and the Pearson VUE delivery details are legacy-published rather than a verified live offer. Confirm that you can actually book the exam, and at what price, before building any plan around it.

This is the single most important cost consideration, and it is one most pricing articles skip. A fee that was published on a legacy page is not the same as a fee you can pay today. Practical steps:

  • Check OMG's current certification listing and Pearson VUE's OMG program page for any OCRES exam code you can select.
  • Contact OMG directly to ask whether Advanced-level OCRES testing is currently offered and under what terms.
  • Do not purchase a long, expensive prep program until you have a confirmed path to a seat.
  • Keep screenshots or written confirmation of any price quoted to you.

For context on how the credential is currently positioned, our explainer on what OCRES certification is covers its background, and the OCRES exam dates guide discusses scheduling realities.

The Hidden Cost: Prerequisite Credentials

OMG's Advanced page lists two prerequisites: a pass on the Fundamental OCUP exam and a pass on the Intermediate OCRES exam. If you hold neither, your true cost of reaching Advanced is the Advanced fee plus the cost of earning those earlier credentials. We do not have published fees for those earlier levels in the sources reviewed, so we cannot quote them; you will need to confirm each one separately.

A terminology conflict to resolve: The Advanced page names "Fundamental OCUP" as a prerequisite, while OMG's program overview instead refers to "OCUP 2 Foundation." These may be intended to mean the same thing, but the published wording differs. Confirm which exact credential is required before you book, because paying for the wrong prerequisite exam is a pure waste of money.

Our OCRES requirements guide walks through eligibility and the prerequisite chain in more detail. As a budgeting rule: if you already hold a qualifying OCUP-level credential and an Intermediate OCRES pass, your out-of-pocket cost narrows to the Advanced fee and your preparation. If you hold neither, plan for a multi-exam path.

Where Preparation Money Actually Goes

The exam fee is the smallest predictable piece of the picture for many candidates. The larger variable is how you prepare, because OCRES Advanced is not a general programming test. It tests a specific body of OMG specifications, and candidates must reason about them from text and UML diagrams. Here is where preparation budgets tend to be spent:

Primary specification access

OMG specifications are the underlying source material for domains such as Data Distribution Service, Real-time CORBA, CORBA for Embedded (CORBA/e), the Lightweight CORBA Component Model, Deployment & Configuration, and Extensible Transport Frameworks. OMG typically makes its formal specifications available for download, which can keep reading costs low. Because the coverage map specifies historical document editions, make sure you study the editions OMG names rather than the newest versions, which may differ.

Structured prep and practice

Practice questions that mimic the exam's text-plus-UML-diagram style are where candidates often invest. Our OCRES practice test platform is built around that style, and the OCRES study guide explains how to sequence your preparation around the published domains.

Optional paid training

Instructor-led courses can be the most expensive line item, and they vary widely in price and relevance. Before paying, check that a course actually maps to the OMG coverage map and not to a generic real-time systems curriculum. Our overview of OCRES training covers what to look for.

Matching Spend to the 10 Exam Domains

A smart way to control cost is to allocate effort, and therefore money, in proportion to what the exam covers. OMG's coverage map publishes approximate percentages for ten domains. Remember these are explicitly approximate, so use them as a guide rather than a guarantee of question counts.

DomainApprox. Weight
Software Engineering for Real-time Systems13%
Real-time CORBA, Dynamic Scheduling13%
Data Distribution Service13%
UML Profile for Schedulability, Performance, and Time11%
UML Profile for Quality of Service and Fault Tolerance10%
CORBA for Embedded (CORBA/e)10%
OMG MDA Guide9%
Lightweight CORBA Component Model8%
Deployment & Configuration7%
Extensible Transport Frameworks6%

Where the 13% domains reward investment

Three domains share the top allocation: Software Engineering for Real-time Systems, Real-time CORBA and Dynamic Scheduling, and Data Distribution Service. Together they account for roughly 39% of the coverage map.

  • Real-time CORBA, Dynamic Scheduling: expect to reason about priority handling and scheduling behavior, not just recall definitions.
  • Data Distribution Service: publish/subscribe data-centric concepts and quality-of-service behavior are core.
  • Software Engineering for Real-time Systems: design and engineering practice for timing-constrained systems.

The two UML profile domains

The UML Profile for Schedulability, Performance, and Time (11%) and the UML Profile for Quality of Service and Fault Tolerance (10%) together make up about a fifth of the map. Because the exam includes UML diagrams, these domains are where diagram-reading skill pays off directly. Our guide to all 10 OCRES exam domains goes domain by domain.

Smaller domains such as Extensible Transport Frameworks (6%) and Deployment & Configuration (7%) deserve less spending, but do not skip them: because the exam is closed-book, per OMG's FAQ, there is no way to look up a specification mid-test.

Retakes and the Price of Underpreparing

Every failed attempt means paying again for another sitting, plus another trip to a test center. We have not found a published retake discount or waiting-period schedule in the sources reviewed, so assume a retake costs the full exam fee and confirm retake terms with OMG or Pearson VUE when you book.

That makes honest self-assessment worth real money. Before you schedule, ask whether you can consistently handle questions that combine specification knowledge with diagram interpretation. Our OCRES difficulty guide explains why this credential trips up candidates who know the vocabulary but have never applied it, and the OCRES pass rate article discusses what can and cannot be said about outcomes from available data.

Key Takeaway

Spending a little more on realistic practice before your first attempt is usually cheaper than paying the US$200 fee twice. Use timed practice at the exam's pace of 90 questions in 90 minutes to find weak domains early.

Getting an Employer to Pay

OCRES targets people who build or architect real-time and embedded distributed systems, so the most natural funders are employers in sectors where timing, determinism, and middleware matter. Think of organizations working with embedded platforms, defense and aerospace-style systems, industrial control, and telecommunications infrastructure, areas where CORBA/e, DDS, and schedulability analysis are part of the vocabulary. Our OCRES jobs page discusses the kinds of roles where this knowledge appears.

If you are asking for reimbursement, frame the request around concrete project value:

  • Show how a domain like Data Distribution Service or Real-time CORBA maps to a system your team builds or maintains.
  • Present the published fee and the confirmed availability status together, so your manager sees you have done the diligence.
  • Offer to share what you learn, such as an internal brown-bag session on the UML profiles for schedulability and quality of service.
  • Ask whether the employer covers prerequisite exams too, if you need them.

Weighing Cost Against Career Return

A US$200 exam fee is modest in absolute terms, but the real question is whether the credential changes your career prospects. We will not quote salary uplift figures here, because we have no verified numbers tied specifically to this credential. What can be said qualitatively: OCRES signals depth in OMG's real-time and embedded standards, a niche that is valued where those standards are in daily use and largely invisible elsewhere.

Because OCRES appears only on legacy OMG pages and not in the current general catalog, its market recognition today may be narrower than that of widely marketed certifications. Read our OCRES ROI analysis and the OCRES salary guide for how to think about that trade-off honestly. One point in the credential's favor, per OMG's FAQ: certification is described as permanent for the attained level and version, so you are not budgeting for recurring renewal fees in the way you would with expiring credentials.

A Sample Budget Sequence

Rather than a generic weekly template, order your spending by risk. The sequence below ties each step to an OCRES-specific question you need answered before you spend more.

Step 1

Confirm the path (little or no cost)

  • Verify the exam can be booked and the live fee.
  • Resolve the "Fundamental OCUP" versus "OCUP 2 Foundation" prerequisite wording.
  • Check your status on the Intermediate OCRES prerequisite.
Step 2

Study the heavy domains first

  • Start with Real-time CORBA, Dynamic Scheduling and Data Distribution Service (13% each), then Software Engineering for Real-time Systems.
  • Use primary OMG specifications in the editions the coverage map names.
Step 3

Add the diagram-driven domains

  • Work through both UML profile domains (11% and 10%) with diagram practice.
  • Fold in CORBA/e, the MDA Guide, and the Lightweight CORBA Component Model.
Step 4

Simulate the exam, then book

  • Take timed practice sets at 90 questions in 90 minutes, closed-book.
  • Only pay the exam fee once practice results are consistently comfortable.

If you want a compact reference during review, our OCRES cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts, and you can test yourself on the main practice test site before committing money to an exam seat.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the OCRES Advanced exam cost?

OMG's undated Advanced page lists US$200. Because OCRES is documented on legacy pages and is absent from OMG's current general catalog and Pearson VUE's current program page, treat that as a legacy-published figure and confirm live pricing and availability before paying.

Are there other fees beyond the exam price?

The sources reviewed do not itemize any. However, you may face costs for prerequisite exams (Fundamental OCUP and Intermediate OCRES), study materials, optional training, and travel to a Pearson VUE test center, all of which depend on your situation.

Does the certification expire and require renewal fees?

OMG's OCRES FAQ describes certification as permanent for the attained level and version, so no recurring renewal charge is indicated in the published materials. Confirm current policy with OMG if this matters to your budget.

What is the passing score, and does it affect cost?

The official minimum passing score is 45 on a 90-question exam, and OMG does not state it as a percentage. It affects cost indirectly: falling short means paying for another attempt, so preparing thoroughly is the cheapest strategy.

Which domains should I spend the most preparation effort on?

The three largest allocations, at 13% each, are Software Engineering for Real-time Systems, Real-time CORBA and Dynamic Scheduling, and Data Distribution Service. The coverage map's percentages are approximate, so cover all ten domains, but weight your time toward those three.

Ready to pass your OCRES exam?

Put this into practice with free OCRES questions across every exam domain.